Press Releases

John Prine

July 7, 2017

Oh Boy Records Presents: “The Songs of John Prine” at Basement East on July 27th With All Proceeds Benefiting Those Darlins’ Jessi Zazu

Nashville, TN — July 7, 2017 — Oh Boy Records is excited to announce “The Songs of John Prine,” a show benefitting Jessi Zazu of the band Those Darlins. To celebrate the re-release of the 2010 John Prine tribute record Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows, Oh Boy Records will be re-pressing the album (which includes Those Darlins’ rendition of “Let’s Talk Dirty in Hawaiian”) on vinyl and will host a night of music featuring Nashville musicians covering classic John Prine songs.

On July 27th at Basement East, audience members will hear renditions of the American-mainstays like “Angel From Montgomery,” “In Spite of Ourselves,” and “Paradise.” The lineup features artists inspired by the man himself with performances by Alex Caress, Amanda Shires, Andrew Combs, Andrew Leahey, Brothers Osborne, Caitlin Rose,  Caroline Rose, Colter Wall, Cory Branan, Darrin Bradbury, Elise Davis, Elizabeth Cook, Holly Williams, Jason Isbell, Jon Latham, Kelsey Waldon, Larissa Murphy, Levi Hummon, Lilly Hiatt, Muddy Magnolias, The Nicholson Brothers, Paul Cauthen, and The Whiskey Gentry (+ with more to be announced).

This event is made possible by Hattie B’s, Flavor Catering, The Press House, and more. All ticket proceeds will benefit Jessi Zazu.

Nashville-based trio Those Darlins, comprised of Nikki Kvarnes, Linwood Regensburg, and Jessi “Zazu” Wariner, recorded and toured as a band for over a decade. While they played their last show in early 2016, the band’s last album, Blur The Line, continues to gain relevance and meaning. The LP’s closing song, “Ain’t Afraid” has now become Zazu’s platform and the slogan of her supporters.

To order a pressing of Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows, visit

Follow John Prine on Spotify here.

For more Information about Jessi Zazu and her fight with cancer, visit her YouCaringpage.

Read The Nashville Scene’s story on Jessi here.

Event Details:

Oh Boy Records Presents: “The Songs of John Prine”

The Basement East

July 27, 2017

Doors @ 7pm / Show @ 8pm

$8 adv/$10 dos


About Oh Boy Records:  

Oh Boy Records is an independent American record label located in Nashville, Tennessee and founded in 1981 by Grammy Award-winning songwriter John Prine and his longtime manager Al Bunetta.  The label has released more than 40 audio and video recordings by singer-songwriters Prine, Kris Kristofferson, Daniel “Slick” Ballinger, Shawn Camp, Dan Reeder, and Todd Snider– along with a dozen reissues of classic country music artists.

In 1980, Prine finished his recording contract with Asylum and moved to Nashville. Rather than sign with another label, he decided to start one of his own, and was joined by Bunetta. The new Oh Boy label’s first release was a red vinyl Christmas single with Prine singing “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus” on the A-side and “Silver Bells” on the B-side. The first full-length release was Prine’s Aimless Love in 1984. Oh Boy is the second oldest artist owned independent label in the country, and the oldest in Nashville.

Contact: Eileen Tilson –