Press Releases

Wes Charlton

July 5, 2018

Wes Charlton to Release Third Full-Length Album, ‘Morning Stars’

NEW YORK — July 5, 2018 — Singer-songwriter Wes Charlton is no stranger to hard work — his first album was a result of his own drive and determination to finish a project previously supported by a full band. In the 13 years since, he’s released a critically-acclaimed second album and toured the US several times over with acts including Tim Easton, Pat McGee Band, and Virginia Coalition, among others. His third album, Morning Stars, is out on September 28 via Vox Records.

The thirteen tracks on Morning Stars were produced by Stewart Myers (Jason Mraz, Rachael Yamagata, Johnathan Rice). Charlton integrates his Americana roots with modern themes to create a poetic and at times haunting vision. Songs like “Snow Covered Cars” and “New York” examine relationships, while “Comeback Kid” showcases the struggle to find yourself and your place within the larger story. Daniel Clarke’s (Natalie Prass, Ryan Adams, Peter Bradley Adams) prodigious piano talents are showcased throughout the album, while John O’Reilly, Jr. (fun., Rachael Yamagata) adds percussion to the collection.

From Lancaster, Va., Charlton grew up in a musical family; first singing back-up with his brother while his father played guitar, then learning piano from his mother. At age 14 he found the acoustic guitar and began writing songs on his own often demoing them on a 4-track in his bathroom. After his first band dissolved, Charlton finished his first album American Bittersweet on his own, and released his second full-length album, World On Fire, via Judy Collins’ Wildflower Records. After a stint in Nashville, Charlton and his wife moved back to Virginia, where they now raise their three children.